Columbus, Indiana: a Hidden Treasure?

If you are an architecture nut like I am, you’ve heard of I. M. Pei, Robert Venturi, César Pelli and Eero Saarinen. You’ve heard of the Pritzker Prize. But have you heard of Columbus, Indiana?

Columbus Indiana City Hall - photo credit IMA

The American Institute of Architects ranks Columbus SIXTH in the United States for architecture, right behind the superlative cities of Chicago, New York, Boston, San Francisco, and Washington, D.C. It’s a marvel to think that Columbus has accomplished this in relative obscurity with a population of little better than 40,000 souls.

But before I open the doors to this living museum of modern architecture, I will take you back in time to unfold this mystery.

Columbus is the world headquarters of Cummins Engine Company, which began there in 1919 when innovator and engineer, Clessie Cummins partnered with banker, W.G. Irwin. Years of explosive growth followed. Today, Cummins is a high-ranking Fortune 500 company with operations in over 190 countries.

In the 1950s J. Irwin Miller, W.G. Irwin’s great-nephew, took the helm as Chairman of Cummins Engine Company, steering the growing company for the next twenty five years. And he adored fine architecture. In 1954 Miller founded the Cummins Foundation and with its funds, he made Columbus Indiana an irresistible deal: “For all new public buildings, if you choose from my list of top 10 architects, the foundation would pay your architect’s fees.” And thus began the brilliant proliferation of premier modern architecture, making Columbus perhaps the densest collection of top-tier architect’s works in the world.

Cummins HQ at night - photo credit Buildapedia

Back in late 1990’s I had the pleasure of frequenting Columbus on business. On my first arrival I had no idea Columbus had such hidden treasures. My business partner and I drove into town late at night and to scout-out our client, Cummins Engine Company, we slowly glided by headquarters with the windows down. I could not believe my eyes.

Starkly white in the moonlight, the boxy, ivy-clad, five-story building sat back from the corner with a giant breeze-way lining the street, framing a triangular courtyard. The structure enigmatically stretches along Brown Street, with just eye level windows horizontally stretching down the long block. But as you circumnavigate the campus, you are treated to many geometrical courtyards and walls of windows.

Kevin Roche designed Cummins’ HQ for construction in 1983. Roche had earned the Pritzker Prize in 1982. His plan married historical elements of old Cummins with an edgy but timeless design. I was breathless.

Cummins HQ - photo credit Visitors' Center

I plan to dedicate a series of posts to Columbus. I look forward to taking you on this virtual revisit of one of my favorite towns and hope it inspires a visit from you.

Great Links:

Best Columbus blog is by Ricky Berkey

Here’s a great article from Buidlapedia, December 2011

Columbus IN Visitor’s Center

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment